PRESS RELEASE

HUNTER COMPLEX – HERE IS THE NIGHT EP



RELEASE: DECEMBER 17 2009 FORMAT: CD / FREE MP3 DOWNLOAD

Here Is the Night EP is the first release by Hunter Complex. Under this name Lars Meijer creates music with a clear influence of synthpop and new wave from the eighties. In January 2010 his debut album *Hunter Complex* will be released. As a starter, Narrominded presents this cd (also available as a free download) containing reworks of the track *Here Is the Night* by Garçon Taupe, Spoelstra and Coen Oscar Polack. Lars Meijer was previously active in electronic music acts Living Ornaments and Psychon and is the co-owner of the Narrominded label. Around the turn of the century, under the moniker Larz, he created two lo-fi pop albums that reached a cult-status internationally. 'Call Larz another bedroom genius - which he is, but he's got that extra bit of special something about him', Allmusic.com said at the time.

Lars Meijer: 'In the past I wrote songs behind the piano and recorded them onto four track. But at a certain point I had reached the limits of working that way. With Living Ornaments and Psychon I experimented with new ways of creating music, like improvisation and creating new sounds with software. With Hunter Complex I use a lot of synthesizers from the eighties and I return to the songwriting and singing. Because of technological developments I'm not limited to four track anymore. Compared to ten years ago the possibilities in recording are without boundaries.'

Here is the Night EP contains remixes and remakes by Garçon Taupe, Spoelstra and Coen Oscar Polack. Garçon Taupe just released the fourth installment of the Narrominded Split LP Series together with Legowelt. In January the cd *The Almighty Internet* by Spoelstra will be released. Coen Oscar Polack was much praised recently for his remake of Brian Eno's *The Big Ship* on *Retro Retry 2: Another Another Green World*.

Narrominded

Narrominded is a Dutch record label. Since 2000 we release vinyl, cd's and mp3's by rock bands like Boutros Bubba, Makazoruki, Katadreuffe and Gone Bald, and electronic and electro-acoustic music by artists like Hydrus, Psychon, Coen Oscar Polack and Living Ornaments. In 2009 we released the fourth installment of the Narrominded Split LP Series, with Garçon Taupe and Legowelt. We also released *Retro Retry 2: Another Another Green World*, a remake of Brian Eno's classic album from 1975 by 14 Dutch electronic acts, a.o. Rude 66, FFF and This Is Total War. Expected in 2010: new records by Spoelstra, Fine China Superbone, Puin + Hoop and Poor White.